About Maurya

Maurya caste is a kshatriya clan and "caste title" for Hindu caste. Kashshi belongs to Mourya caste. "Mourya" or "Kashshi" traditionally involve in occupation related to agricultural activities. They reside mostly in U.P., Bihar and North India. This caste is included in the list of 'Other Backward Classes' (OBC) by the UP/Bihar and MP where they are found in large numbers. They are vegetarian in lifestyle. They use titles like Kushwaha, Maurya, Hardia,Verma, Singh, or Mahto. Mourya caste is also allied with other Kshatriya castes like Kashi(ancient republic of Kashi), Shakya (India and Nepal) and Saini (western UP). Kushwaha/Mourya/Shakya are important farming caste in UP/Bihar/MP etc. The Maurya history goes way back to 322 BC.At that time the Mourya Empire (322–185 BC), ruled by the Mouryan dynasty, was the largest and the most powerful political and military empire of ancient India.While Chandragupta mourya was first king, Ashok Mourya, Dashratha and Samprati Maurya were other great kings.Originating from the kingdom of Magadha in the Indo-Gangetic plains (modern Bihar and Bengal) in the eastern side of the sub-continent, the empire had its capital city at Pataliputra (near modern Patna). The Empire was founded in 322 BC by Chandragupta Maurya, who had overthrown the Nanda Dynasty and began rapidly expanding his power westwards across central and western India taking opportunistic advantage of the disruptions of local powers in the wake of the withdrawal westward by Alexander the Great's Macedonian and Persian armies. By 316 BC the empire had fully occupied Northwestern India, defeating the satraps left by Alexander.

At its greatest extent, the Empire stretched to the north along the natural boundaries of the Himalayas, and to the east stretching into what is now Assam. To the west, it reached beyond modern Pakistan and included Baluchistan in Persia and significant portions of what is now Afghanistan, including the modern Herat and Kandahar provinces. The Empire was expanded into India's central and southern regions by Emperor Bindusara, but it excluded a small portion of unexplored tribal and forested regions near Kalinga.

The Mauryan Empire was perhaps the greatest empire to rule the Indian subcontinent until the arrival of the British. Its decline began fifty years after Ashoka's rule ended, and it dissolved in 185 BC with the foundation of the Sunga Dynasty in Magadha.

Under Chandragupta, the Mauryan Empire liberated the trans-indus region, which was under Macedonian occupation. Chandragupta then defeated the invasion led by Seleucus I, a Greek general from Alexander's army. Under Chandragupta and his successors, both internal and external trade, and agriculture and economic activities, all thrived and expanded across India thanks to the creation of a single and efficient system of finance, administration and security. After the Kalinga War, the Empire experienced half a century of peace and security under Ashoka: India was a prosperous and stable empire of great economic and military power whose political influence and trade extended across Western and Central Asia and Europe. Mauryan India also enjoyed an era of social harmony, religious transformation, and expansion of the sciences and of knowledge. Chandragupta Maurya's embrace of Jainism increased social and religious renewal and reform across his society, while Ashoka's embrace of Buddhism was the foundation of the reign of social and political peace and non-violence across all of India. Ashoka sponsored the spreading of Buddhist ideals into Sri Lanka, Southeast Asia, West Asia and Mediterranean Europe.

Chandragupta's minister Kautilya Chanakya wrote the Arthashastra, one of the greatest treatises on economics, politics, foreign affairs, administration, military arts, war, and religion ever produced in the East. Archaeologically, the period of Mauryan rule in South Asia falls into the era of Northern Black Polished Ware (NBPW). The Arthashastra and the Edicts of Ashoka are primary sources of written records of the Mauryan times. The Mauryan empire is considered one of the most significant periods in Indian history. The Lion Capital of Asoka at Sarnath, is the emblem of India.

Who Are Shakya ?

Shakya (Sanskrit:Śākya, Devanagari: शाक्य and Pāli:Sākiya) was an ancient janapada (kingdom) of Iron Age India. The name is derived from the Sanskrit word śakya which means capable, able... Know More

Who Are Kushwaha?

The Kuchwaha (also spelled as Kachavaha,Kachawaha,Kacchavahas, Kachhawa, Kuchhwaha,Kachhawaha, & Keshwala including Kacchapghata, Kakutstha, and Kurma) ... Know More

Who Are Saini?

SAINI'S are a kshatriya clan belonging to the SURYAVANSHI KSHATRIYA's, a branch of the warrior class. Ancient Greek traveller and ambassdor to India... Know More

Who Are Maurya?

Shakya (Sanskrit:Śākya, Devanagari: शाक्य and Pāli:Sākiya) was an ancient janapada (kingdom) of Iron Age India. The name is derived from the Sanskrit word śakya which means... Know More